Last Friday in the Las Vegas sports centre in Barranquilla,
Colombia, all three women’s matches, according to Kevin Bello Parada
of Boxeo Mundial, ended in first round knockouts, with Mónica
‘Terrible’ Acosta Siris “imposing her will on” Maria (‘Viking’)
Ahumada at featherweight, 17-year-old Paulina ‘Paquita’ Cardona
“stopping” Jany Mendoza at super flyweight, and the unbeaten Maria
Mancilla “anaesthetizing” Aracelys Cardona at cruiserweight.
Latin American journalists often fail to distinguish between KOs and
TKOs; and, indeed, it could be argued that – other than in the case
of a controversial stoppage – the difference is hardly significant.
If a fighter is obviously not getting up (because she’s out cold),
rather than counting, referees often prefer to get the doctors in
there quick; the result is then given as a ‘technical’ knockout,
even though it’s a literal one as well. Conversely, when the referee
stops the fight because a knockout is inevitable and imminent, it is
often reported as a KO, even though ‘technically’, it isn’t. Other
than the case, then, of Mancilla and Cardona, where the language is
pretty unambiguous, we can’t be sure here (in the absence of further
information) quite what happened. Perhaps the ref just didn’t like
women’s boxing - or had a plane to catch.
Anibal Andrade, who refereed the recent Acuña-Herrera title fight in
Buenos Aires, had no plane to catch – the ferry back to Montevideo
perhaps – but he came in for some criticism on Argentinian TV for
interrupting the action at a time when the outcome was still
uncertain; Herrera, the commentators felt, might still have
recovered, had she been given the chance.
Thanks to the miracles of modern technology, you can judge the
matter for yourselves:
The blonde in the white dress, BTW, at the start of the clip, is