So...One May Ask...What DOES it take
to have a Ref Deduct Points for Low Blows and More?
by Sue TL Fox
February 27, 2013
(FEB 27) On February 23, 2013, at
the Club Olimpo, Bahia Blanca, in Buenos Aires, Argentina,
Alejandra "Locomotora" Oliveras, of Santa Fe, Argentina,
fought Dayana "Tigresa" Cordero, of Barranquilla, Colombia.
The two fought 10 rounds, for the WBO and WBA title. The fight
ended in a unanimous decision, in favor of Oliveras.
WBAN's question is this....What
in the world does it take for a referee, to deduct points for
Low Blows, with Oliveras throwing a barrage of low
shots that landed Cordero doubling over for getting hit below
the legal point in round sixth and eight.
As described by
many, the fight was "ugly", and that Oliveras should have been
disqualified for such actions. WBAN posted the latter
rounds where it was more prevalent of Oliveras actions in the
ring. I do not know if Oliveras is a "Locomotora", I
would more accurately describe her in this contest, a "Dirty
If you notice, it
appears that the Ref looks frustrated talking with Oliveras---but
during his admonishments, she is only deducted one point during
the whole fight. He also talked with her in the sixth
round, after 5-6
straight low blows where Cordero drops down to the canvas after
the blows---but does that bother or stop Oliveras from
continuing her actions---? Apparently not,
as she continues the low blows in the eighth round---again,
Cordero drops to the canvas.
One boxing observer said, "Olivera should have been
disqualified. She hit her opponent with low shots. I
cannot believe that this world champion left viewers
disappointed. The referee was a disaster. The boxing
commission in Argentina should suspend Oliveras boxing license,
for improper professional conduct, where she repeated this
throughout the fight."
Another observer said, "This was a very sloppy fight. The
winner, Oliveras, steadily threw low shots and had the support
of the referee Basile."