(JULY 28) WBAN has just
received some fantastic news in regards to the Anne Sophie
Mathis vs. Christina Hammer controversial fight that took place
on July 26, 2014. The WBF has responded to an appeal that
was lodged by Christel Aujoux, the Boxing Agent/Matchmaker with
Mathis. They wrote the following:
Torben Seemann Hansen, Chairman
on behalf of the
Executive Committee of the World Boxing Federation (WBF)
Ms. Christel Aujoux, on behalf of Anne Sophie Mathis, appealed the ruling of the
WBF womens world Super Welterweight championship between defending champion
Mathis of France and challenger Christina Hammer of Germany in Dessau, Germany
on July 26, 2014 on the grounds that:
a.) Three of four ring officials (which were appointed solely by the World
Boxing Organization (WBO) due to the promoter requesting sanctioning from the
WBF only on the day of the bout) were from the country of the challenger,
b.) The (German) referee Manfred Kuechler never once warned Hammer about
c.) The final punches of Mathis, which led to the termination of the bout due to
Hammer being unable to continue, were perfectly legal;
d.) The referee acted improperly upon Hammer being knocked out.
As evidence, Ms. Aujoux included in her protest:
a.) Several internet articles on the bout;
b.) Video footage of round 5.
Maintaining that the correct result would have been W KO 5 in favour of Mathis,
Ms. Aujoux requested that:
a.) The bout to be declared a No Contest as a result of the referee giving a
wrong judgement and thus Mathis to be reinstated as WBF womens world Super
b.) A rematch to be recommended.
After reviewing the evidence and taking into consideration the report of the WBF
supervisor on site, Jean Marcel Nartz, WBF Vice President, the WBF Executive
Committee has unanimously decided as follows:
1.) The protest by Mathis is justified in its entirety.
2.) The WBF will amend the result from Hammer W DQ 5 into NO CONTEST.
3.) Mathis therefore retains her WBF womens world Super Welterweight title.
4.) An immediate rematch between Mathis and Hammer is strongly recommended.
5.) This ruling is final and not subject to any further appeals or protests.
Copenhagen, Denmark, 28th July 2014.
Torben Seemann Hansen
WBF Executive Committee
ANOTHER UPDATE - JULY 29, 2014
FOR ALL OF THOSE WHO WERE
QUESTIONING THE VALIDITY OF THIS UNFORTUNATE CALL THE NIGHT OF
THE HAMMER VS. MATHIS FIGHT:
German commission (BDB) changes result of female world
championship Hammer vs. Mathis to "no contest"
President Thomas Pütz: "We all make mistakes - but we got to do
our best to correct them."
The German boxing commission (Bund Deutscher Berufsboxer - BDB)
officially changed the result of last Saturday's female world
championship between Christina Hammer and Anne Sophie Mathis to
a "no contest". By doing so the BDB followed the ruling of the
World Boxing Federation (WBF) which already announced that
change yesterday. The World Boxing Organization (WBO) still has
to decide about the result.
The reason for the decision: In the fifth round of their WBO-/WBF
Junior Middleweight Championship bout Christina Hammer blocked
Mathis' left arm in a clinch. Referee Manfred Küchler didn't
stop the action so Mathis continuously hit Hammer with her free
right arm to the left side of her head. Hammer went down from
those punches and couldn't continue.
However, instead of declaring Mathis the winner by KO, referee
Küchler disqualified the Frenchwoman for alleged rabbit punches.
Later on Hammer said that she was knocked out by elbow shots.
The slowmotion clearly showed that there were no illegal punches
at all but that Hammer was fouling instead by holding Mathis'
left arm and still got knocked out.
"The BDB is very sorry for this bad decision", says President
Thomas Pütz. "Because it was a world title fight it was not
completely under our jurisdiction. Still the referee Manfred
Küchler is a BDB referee and we apologize on his behalf. This
was clearly no attempt to cheat on Anne Sophie Mathis and her
team but just a wrong judgement in the heat of the fight. We all
make mistakes - but we got to do our best to correct them. There
will be an investigation of the events and a hearing of Manfred
Küchler before we decide if he will be suspended. But there is
no question that the result of a DQ victory for Hammer has to be
changed to a 'no contest'. This way Anne Sophie Mathis keeps her
world champion title and the promoters can negotiation a rematch
which would definitely make sense from our side."